West Nusa Tenggara (WNT)

About West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia

West Nusa Tenggara (WNT/NTB) Province is composed of two main islands, namely Lombok and Sumbawa. The Province has two large cities and eight regencies, and the main economic sectors are tourism and agriculture. It has a population of over 5 million people, of which almost 99% have access to electricity.

Energy security is the main energy-related challenge in WNT, as most of the electricity is sourced from imported coal and diesel. In line with national mandates for energy development, WNT has developed a General Provincial Energy Plan (RUEDP) that lays out certain energy targets and plans, including those related to renewable energy. In accordance with the RUEDP, the province has set a renewable energy target of 35% to be achieved 2025.